Disabled-friendly?

Owing to a recent gammy knee episode, I had occasion to learn from painful experience (literally), how far Glasgow has to go in enabling access to utilities by disabled people. As far as I could see, few if any of the Underground stations have lifts, and after I had hirpled down the steps of Buchanan St (which were slippery with a film of water), and arrived at Hillhead, the escalator at Hillhead wasn’t working. I don’t know what it is about Hillhead, but every time I go down there my glasses mist up. So I was momentarily blind as well as lame.

Nothing like a bit of temporary disability to make you thankful for good health, and to learn patience with the slow-moving person in front of you on a crowded pavement.

Leave a Reply

