Do I know you?

Yet again, I’ve been reminded of how little we know about people we thought we were fairly close to. I’ve spent the morning with a family preparing for the funeral of a much-loved member of our congregation, whom I thought I knew reasonably well. As has so often happened before in similar circumstances, a whole new vista of a complex and creative life opened up, gifts displayed in the person’s youth and middle years, which were obscured in old age by infirmity, memory loss, diminishing of the personality.

A reminder of the unfathomable mystery of being human.

4 responses to “Do I know you?

  1. Welcome to the world of Blogging my friend, I hope you enjoy doing it as much as I have!

  2. Many thanks.

    Was the comment deliberately associated with the title of the post? (Dear me, academia makes you see irony everywhere!)

  3. rosemaryhannah

    Yes, although driving home yesterday I did wonder if I would not perfer my funderal oration to be by somebody who would be able to say, with a straight face ‘She went to work as a cleaner so cheerfully’ rather than somebody who know me well enough to say ‘She did it, but made sure, in a quiet way, that everybody knew it was a big give.’

  4. So true. I always leave a funeral sad, not just for the loss of the person I knew and loved, but sad for the part of the person I never knew, and will never know.

Leave a Reply

